Club History

The Brief History of the Mount Eliza Football Netball Club

The Mt Eliza Football Club formed in 1968 with Jim Willis the founding President at the helm.

Home games were played at Baden Powell Drive in the old Club colors of Grey and Yellow, before the switch to the new Home ground at the Emil Madsen Reserve at Wooralla Drive in 1970. The Clubrooms were built by Club Stalwart and local builder Lance Mogford.

Under the guidance of other Club luminaries Haydn and Margaret Tracy many fundraising activities took place, including Bingo and the running of the canteen at both Senior and Junior matches.

On field successes were few and far between for the Club in the 70’s, with just one Reserves Premiership and one Senior Runners-Up in this decade.

1982 saw the appointment of former VFL star Greg Lambert as Senior Coach and in Greg’s 7 year term, he produced the Club’s first Senior Premiership v Rye in 1983.

Young local players Brendan Rooney (1986) and Adam Woinarski (1990) who played in the Grand Final, were both later to become League Medallists at the Club.

In 1990 and 1991, under Captain Coach Carl Gwynne, two further finals assaults were launched, getting to a 2nd Semi in 1990 and a Prelim in 1991.

The mid 1990’s saw the Club have tremendous success, with the Under 18’s winning three successive Premierships, the Reserves winning one and the Seniors being Runners-Up in 1996 against Pearcedale, who we were to defeat in the 1998 Senior Grand Final under the leadership of Mark “Moo” Glenn.
Andrew Hassett won the League B & F Award in 1996 and Mark Glenn in 1997.

The Clubs 3rd Senior Premiership was in 2001, when John Dugdale took the reigns in the defeat of Frankston, relinquishing the job the next season when former Melbourne player Paul Hopgood took over as the Club entered the top Senior Division for the first time in over a decade.
Under “Hoppy’s” guidance, the Seniors defeated Frankston YCW in the 2005 Grand Final by a record margin of 132 points. The following season we were Runners-Up to Chelsea.
The Reserves won back to back flags in 2005 and 2006.

Lloyd Williams won the League B & F Award in 2009 and Anthony Simpson won the U/18 Award.

Constantly in the top four or five following these successes, the Club had a disastrous 2011 season (Playing Home games at Mornington whilst our ground was being resurfaced), winning just 2 games in both the Senior and Reserves teams.

After this the football side has successfully maintained top of the ladder standings year on year and we look forward to continuing this history of success.

The MPFNL invited netball to be a part of the league in 2010.  Starting with only one team the league has grown to require 4 teams in A, B, C and D divisions, and due to the strong netball following in the Mt Eliza community, we have comfortably fielded all 4 teams without problem.  Since its inception, Mt Eliza netball has made finals in every year of its history, including our first A Grade premiership in 2013 – and again we like to predict that 2016 will be no different.

2016 marks the first year that we will be fielding our first senior women’s footy side, the Mt Eliza Women’s Football team in the inaugural MPNFL Women’s footy league. This new league will comprise teams from some other MPNFL clubs and also some teams from other districts. As one of the first teams in the MPFNL to enter a women’s team, we are excited and look forward to seeing our Mt Eliza Football Netball community grow.  We look forward to replicating the history of success that our men’s footballers and netballers have maintained over the years.